Questionnaire: Questions to Get to Know Me.

Hey Everyone.

Sorry I’ve been kinda silent over the past little while. I’ve been anxiously waiting on the results to a writing contest I entered last post. So I’ve been looking at my previous get to know you post and I feel that I really didn’t go that much into debt about myself so here goes me trying to do just that.

As you probably understand I am a writer so here are some writing questions I’ve collected from my friends. Hope you enjoy!

1. What genre do you like writing?

Well for me I enjoy writing fantasy adventure/action. I can’t get over the feeling i get from writing suspense and the thrill of a chase.

2. When did you start writing?

I guess you could say that I started writing when I was five or so without actually writing. I played games that are turning out to become my novels now. The time I really started writing and getting serious about it was when I was in seventh grade and started the first draft of my book.

3. What inspires you to write?

I feel that the mere fact that I’m the one creating a book with characters that I created gives me a thrill. I’m in charge of the book where previously I inserted my self in books I read. But if we were to be truthful, the thing that really inspires me to write is the thrill of creation.

4. What is your favorite thing about writing? Least favorite? Hardest thing?

My Favorite thing about writing is as stated above that I am able to create something out of nothing. My least favorite thing would have to be having to write every word. It gets monitions at times until its finally finished. Believe it or not writing is work, hard work which leads to the next question. The completion of a book would be the hardest thing, that of course next to editing that i’m sure most writers don’t enjoy.

5. Name three people who have inspired you to write: A friend or family member, a blogger, and an author.

Geeze who came up with these questions? Oh yeah me. Um… let me see… I’d have to say that the family member who inspired me to write would have to be my dad. He’s the one who suggested that I write a novel having heard my complaints of them never putting my favorite kind of character in a book.

Hm…. the blogger who inspired me to write… That would either have to be Bryan Hutchinson(http://positivewriter.com/) or Joe Bunting(www.thewritepractice.com) or both. Their websites have really inspired me to write. I found both of them when I was at a point that as a writer I wasn’t writing a word of my book or otherwise.

An author well that’s an easy one. The author that inspired me to write would have to be Tamora Pierce. She inspired me because she was an author that I read with a girl main character. I feel like they don’t get enough lime light and Tamora gave them the light they deserved. (wow this question took a long time to answer… oh well next)

6. Who is(are) your favorite author(s)?

*smiles* Now that is a list that I’ve actually considered. Now note these are not in any particular order. Brandon Mull, Obert Skye, M. L. Forman, Tamora Pierce, Tyler Whitesides, Marissa Burt, and Richard Paul Evans. (I think that’s all of them but if i interrupt later I remembered one more)

7. Who are your favoirte characters in your favorite books?

… Really now I have to choose that one.. ug… Its going to be like a blog post length list. I’ll limit myself to one per series no one per author. For Brandon Mull my favorite character thus far would have to be Kendra from fablehaven. Obert Skye’s character is Winter. M. L. Forman… hm… this one is harder… Alex Tailor. Tamora Pierce would have to be Keladry (Kel) of Mindelan. Tyler Whitesides would be hands down Daisy, She is so funny I laugh every time. Marissa Burt would be Una Fairchild. Richard Paul Evans would have to be… hm… Tailor.

8. Where do you go to write?

I tend to go where ever I can sit and concentrate. Mostly just anywhere were it is quiet. Mostly this is in nature.

9. Where do the idea’s for your stories come from?

Mostly they are coming from games that I played when I was younger, though some of them come from idea’s sparked by someone saying something or deep pondering.

10.  How do you overcome writer’s doubt?

I tell myself that “I am a strong confidante human being, I make a difference, No one can make me feel like a nothing unless I let them, I may make mistakes but I can and will overcome them.”

11. How do you break writer’s block?

Personally I haven’t quite defeated this writing monster yet but for me when I have writer’s block I write something completely off topic from what ever I’m having the block with.

12. How much time do you spend writing a week?

At the least is 15 min a day. I do this to make sure that my writing time is do able and not to overwhelming. though most of the time I get in more writing time.

13. How do you go about character design/personality?

I start writing the book. Character development usually comes as the novel evolves. If this doesn’t work however I tend to do a role play with my friend with that character.

14. What’s one of your grammar pet peeves?

Oh dear… gonna disappoint the friend who wrote this. I don’t have any. I leave grammar alone it leaves me alone. It’s a mutual relationship. (though I am forced to come to terms with it when editing >.<)

15. What are your favorite movies?

My favorite movies would have to be, as of now, Frozen, Brave, and Star Wars ( though i’m sure there is a bunch I’ll remember later)

Well that’s my questions for ya. I just have one more matter of business before I call it a post. (If i missed any questions that you’d like answered please email them to me at mysticalmiriam(at)gmail.com)

I recently finished the book “Writers Doubt: The #1 Enemy of Writing (and What You Can Do About It) By Bryan Hutchinson and I would like to give a review about it.

My review: This book helped me in ways that no other book has ever done. I’ve researched many things on the internet and read many books but only this one was truly able to help me. I would recommend this book to anyone who has had experiences with self doubt in their writing or other wise. This book was truly inspiring.

4 thoughts on “Questionnaire: Questions to Get to Know Me.

    1. Yes it is rather interesting but I thought it was more fun than just writing a long boring thing about myself. I like to look at things different ways. (that and I’m only learning to be a blogger *cough cough*) Thanks for the comment Adelaide 🙂

      Like

  1. Ahhhh, you like Tamora Pierce?!?! ME, TOO. 😀 I absolutely adore the Song of the Lioness series. As you may have been able to tell, that was one of my biggest inspirations when writing The Sorceress.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

